© 2023 KRWG
News that Matters.
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Warren taps U.S. Rep. Deb Haaland, 2 others as ‘co-chairs’


ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. (AP) — Democratic presidential hopeful Elizabeth Warren has named U.S. Reps. Deb Haaland, Ayanna Pressley and Katie Porter as her campaign co-chairs.

Warren made the announcement Friday on social media with a video of the congresswomen at her campaign rallies.

Haaland of Albuquerque is one of the first Native American women elected to the U.S. House.

Pressley was elected to her Boston-area seat after defeating a Democratic incumbent in a primary last year. She is the first black woman elected to Congress from Massachusetts.

Porter’s represents a district south of Los Angeles.

It was not immediately clear what role the co-chairs will play in the campaign.