KRWG Awards

The New Mexico Broadcasters Association (NMBA) announced the winners of the association’s Excellence in Broadcasting Awards on August 6, 2021. KRWG Public Media picked up nine awards, including the Station of the Year award for KRWG-FM, 90.7.  

The awards reflect the outstanding achievement of broadcasters during 2020 and the unprecedented events of the year.   

KRWG Reporter Madison Staten has been recognized in the National Federation of Press Women Contest.

Madison was honored with a second-place award for:

Las Cruces Agriculture Industry Hit By Loss of Labor And Other COVID Impacts 

This story was also recognized with a first-place award in the New Mexico Press Women Contest; Madison also earned a third-place award in the New Mexico competition for:

Truth Or Consequences Teacher Shares Challenges of Online Learning And Some Surprising Positives 

Congratulations, Madison!

New Mexico State University’s Department of Public Health Sciences will present its sixth annual Public Health Heroes Awards throughout October, honoring several Doña Ana County leaders and organizations for their public health commitments, collaborations and contributions.

The presentation of the awards – initially planned for April during National Public Health Week – was delayed because of COVID-19 concerns and restrictions on large gatherings.

The department decided to move forward with the awards this month. Now, faculty members, along with College of Health of Social Services Interim Dean Sonya Cooper, Ph.D., are distributing the awards directly to the recipients, using COVID-19 safe practices.

KRWG Public Media is celebrating big wins from the New Mexico Broadcasters Association in reporting, best newscast (second year in a row), speciality show, and student journalism.

Large Market Radio

Anthony Moreno - Complete Newscast Station - March 13, 2020 – 7:45am Newscast

Fred Martino - Feature News Story - Mayoral Candidates Discuss Being “Business-Friendly”

Edmundo Resendez & Jacob Lockwood - Specialty Show - Beer Confidential Live

Student Awards

Fiona St. Pierre – KRWG TV, Original Production - Special Liquor License Could Boost Craft Spirits Industry In NM

Zeitlin Honored With First Place Award From New Mexico Press Women

Aug 18, 2020

Leora Zeitlin has been recognized with a first-place award from the New Mexico Press Women; the segment also placed third in the 2020 National Federal of Press Women contest.  The awards honor her work on this story about the late Mark Medoff:

Zeitlin hosts “Intermezzo,” KRWG's classical music program, from 2 p.m. to 4 p.m. Thursdays and Fridays.

Her work has been recognized at the state and national level in previous years,

KRWG Public Media is thrilled to announce that Las Cruces High School Senior Xavier Dominguez was honored this week as one of the PBS NewsHour Student Reporting Labs (SRL) Student Journalists of the Year.  He received the award at The National Educational Telecommunications Association (NETA) conference in Washington, D.C.  As station sponsor for Dominguez, KRWG also received an award at the conference.

Fred Martino, Ph.D., KRWG Director of Content,  worked with with Dominguez in the Las Cruces High School broadcasting program, along with former KRWG multimedia reporters Simon Thompson and Mallory Falk.  "I was very impressed with Xavier's passion for journalism.  It has been great to see him continue to grow through the PBS NewsHour Student Reporting Labs.  And it was wonderful to see his work recognized as one of the Student Journalists of the Year," Martino said. 

Dominguez was an SRL Fellow in 2018 and returned to the Academy in 2019 as SRL’s behind-the-scenes student correspondent. His story about youth groups organizing to lower the voting age to 16 in Washington D.C. was featured in Teen Vogue. He is also featured in KQED’s Election Challenge sizzle

Dominguez says SRL has “given me such great opportunity in the journalism field and has guided me to produce stories I thought I could never do.” Xavier’s first story with Student Reporting Labs was a Bond Proposal story he produced during his sophomore year that aired on KRWG-TV's Emmy Award-winning Newsmakers.

Emily Guerra Honored By El Paso Group

Jan 3, 2020

Fiesta Host Emily Guerra has been honored with the award for Best Female Radio Program by Los Premios de la Gente (People's Awards of El Paso). 

Congratulations, Emily! 

Listen to Fiesta! weeknights at 7pm on KRWG-FM. 

"Best Of Living Here" Newsmakers Episode Honored With An Emmy

Sep 19, 2019

A team from KRWG Public Media at New Mexico State University has won a highly competitive Rocky Mountain Emmy Award for its half-hour “Newsmakers-Best of Living Here” show.  Watch the program at the bottom of this post.

KRWG production manager Joe Widmer, producer Christian Valle and TV production supervisor Ralph Escandón received the Arts/Entertainment-Program Special Emmy, a highly competitive award with entries from four western states. This is the first joint Emmy for Widmer, Valle and Escandón.

KRWG’s Zeitlin recognized by National Federation of Press Women

Aug 10, 2019

New Mexico State University’s Leora Zeitlin has been recognized with two first-place awards from the National Federation of Press Women for her work with KRWG Public Media. 

Zeitlin hosts “Intermezzo,” a KRWG classical music program, from 2 p.m. to 4 p.m. Thursdays and Fridays. Her work has been recognized at the state and national level in previous years, but this is her first time receiving two first-place recognitions at once. 

“It’s always thrilling to have one’s work recognized and awarded,” she said. 

New Mexico State University’s KRWG Public Media received four awards from the New Mexico Broadcasters Association’s 2019 Excellence in Broadcasting awards. 
The awards reflect the outstanding achievement of broadcasters and recognize exceptional news coverage, entertainment and production across four radio markets and one television market. 

Director of Content Fred Martino received the award for best website and best legislative coverage, “Las Cruces City Council Supports Bill To Offer Special Liquor Licenses To Boost Economic Development.”