© 2024 KRWG
News that Matters.
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Contested Primary Election results from Luna County

In Luna County, voters cast ballots in contested primary election races. With 31 precincts fully reporting, unofficial results from the New Mexico Secretary of State’s office Tuesday night in the Democratic primary for New Mexico State Representative in District 32 have Linda Alvarez with 57 percent of the vote over Andrew Simon Hernandez III who took 43 percent of the vote Tuesday night. The winner faces incumbent Republican candidate Jennifer Jones in November's general election.

In the Republican primary for District 3 Luna County Commissioner, candidate Christie Ann Harvey took 53 percent of the vote over candidate Rosela Nanez who received 47 percent of the vote. In the Democratic primary race for District 3 Luna County Commissioner candidate Ariana Jaime Saludares took 61 percent of the vote over candidate William Johnson’s 39 percent. Six precincts were listed as fully reported in both of these primary races for county commissioner.


Anthony Moreno serves as the Director of Content at KRWG Public Media. He also is host and executive producer for "Fronteras-A Changing America" and "Your Legislators" on KRWG-TV.